Westwood not taking part in Seve Trophy

Westwood not taking part in Seve Trophy

Golf player Chris Wood has aimed a shot at the top names who have not participated in the Seve Trophy. Just 3 members from previous year’s Ryder Cup squad will tee up in matchplay battle between Continental Europe and Great Britain and Ireland in Paris.

Top 6 qualifiers in GB&I squad – Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Ian Poulter and Graeme McDowell and Spain’s Sergio Garcia have decided not to take part in the event.

Chris Wood stated that it is up to those golfers but as per him it was a bit of a shame the golfers who are now staying in the United States did not want to come over. Just 2 years ago, it was all about Seve event and it does not quite seem to be the same at present.

Jose Maria Olazabal will send his stagers Miguel Angel Jimenez and Thomas Bjorn in today’s starting fourball game against Stephen Gallacher and Scots Paul Lawrie. Great Britain and Ireland, this year led by Sam Torrance, have become victorious in the past 6 events.

In Presidents Cup golf event between United States the Rest of the World, US golfer Tiger Woods would partner golfer Matt Kuchar against Marc Leishman and Angel Cabrera in his first match in fourballs.

Lee Westwood, the ex world number one golfer, slumped to a 9 over par 80 following neck and back problem in the first round of BMW Championship in Illinois.

Comments are closed.